The Wadadli Youth Pen Prize is a programme designed to nurture and showcase the literary arts in Antigua and Barbuda. Its flagship project, since its launch in 2004, has been the annual Wadadli Pen Challenge. You can read about the Wadadli Pen programme here and read all winning Challenge entries here.

“Writing for the Wadadli Pen Challenge this year wasn’t easy: and that is precisely why it’s so beneficial, year in and year out.” – Daryl George, 2012 – 2014 finalist and 2016 winner. Read his full letter here.

“Wadadli pen opened the door to my creativity, it inspired me to let go of my fears and speak out, and most of all it helped me to channel all the energy I had by simply putting pen to paper.” – Liscia Lawrence, finalist 2004 – 2005, 2014. Read her full letter here.

Wadadli Pen has done more (read about us here) but the second largest project is this website which is according to one international blogger  “a huge archive of anything literary that is Antiguan and Barbudan …the sheer volume of information here is highly useful and the effort is commendable.”

The development of the Wadadli Pen programme remains a priority even as it continues to contribute to the development of the literary arts in Antigua and Barbuda. You can support the work, with donations of money, gifts, and/or time.

Welcome! Dig around, follow to keep up with the updates, comment, participate, and if you need to contact us directly, do so via wadadlipen@gmail.com Thank you.

Copyright of the winning Wadadli Pen stories and/or art work featured on this site belongs to the creators of the individual works. The Wadadli Pen logo was created by Ken Shipley. Other blog content, except otherwise noted, is created and/or maintained by Wadadli Pen founder and coordinator, Antiguan and Barbudan author Joanne C. Hillhouse. Site content should not be copied, distributed, transmitted, used for commercial purposes, altered, transformed, or built upon without the consent of the copyright holders.