Forward On by Emiline Bero

Forward
On

Author: Emiline Bero

3rd place – Short Story
Ages 12 – 17

There are times in an individual’s life when they are teased, bullied, abused or just hurt. In my essay, I will be writing about when a child feels miserable and in a crisis, they should say ‘Forward On’ with my life, my education, my pride.

When a child is stuck in this crisis (usually from the age of nine), they need to think about moving forward on. They should think about what is ahead of them. There is a saying ‘sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me.’ This is false because words do hurt, and this causes children to break down in tears.

I know this because I was bullied in Grade 5, at the age of nine. My mother helped me overcome it. She told me it wasn’t the end of the world. I quote her exact words, ‘You should think of your life ahead of you.’ She also told me ‘forward on with your life darling, it is not the end of the world’.

What I am saying is that no matter what problems you have in your life, the whole idea is to think of the problems that you will face in the future and not the past or the present. Anything can happen in a day, hour, or even a minute, and that is why we have today to ourselves and our pains…FORWARD ON WITH OUR LIFE, EDUCATION AND PRIDE!

COPYRIGHT INFORMATION & TERMS OF USE
Winning pieces from the 2011 Independence Literary Arts Competition are published here, with the chairperson’s permission, for the purpose of showcasing the talent displayed during the competition. Copyright of these pieces remain the preserve of the writers and, as is the case with all Wadadli Youth Pen Prize/Wadadli Pen, content should not be copied, distributed, transmitted, used for commercial purposes, altered, transformed, or built upon without the consent of the copyright holders. All other site content is created by me (Joanne C. Hillhouse) or, in the case of winning Wadadli Pen stories, the specific authors unless otherwise indicated. The same rules apply

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Forward On by Emiline Bero

  1. Pingback: SELECTIONS FROM THE A & B INDEPENDENCE LIT AWARDS 2011 | Wadadli Pen

Leave a Reply

