Just Forward On by Rev. Denise Smith-Lewis

Just Forward On

Author: Rev. Denise Smith-Lewis

Winner: 2nd place – Poetry 18 and over

 

Uncle Jay smiles broadly, his tear-glistened eye beams
with pride.

“That’s my daughter you know!” he says, turning to the
stranger at his side.

“Is first class honours she get!” He exclaims with
much vigour,

“What a way how me baby girl turn big time scholar!”

“It was rough going fuh me, cause me Vee die and leave
she small.

An me fuh raise deh ten o’ dem alone, dat was a
helluva call!

But me farward on, an did me best, didn’t murmur nor
complain.

Me jus cry out to the Almighty Lard, again and again.

“Plenty times me feel like giving up, me couldn’t tek
it no more.

Me wanted fuh lie down side me Vee, on dat peaceful
shore,

But dem ten pickney look to me everyday fuh daily
bread.

So all dat talk ‘bout giving up, me get dem out me
head.

“Fuh feed ten pickney nuh easy, nuh! Food disappear in
me house!

Sometimes me swear say, we was infested wid a million
mouse.

Then clothes, an shoes, an school. Lard, what a
frustration!

But me farward on, an see to it, dem get one good
education.

“So, now, me baby graduate, ah me feel like a one
king.

Fuh see a dis what all me hard work an sacrifice
bring.

De sky is de limit, everything possible in sight.

Lard, thank you, fuh help me do something right.

“So son, whatever your struggle, you too, can achieve.

Never give up on your dreams, always believe!

When you fall, ‘rouse youself, nuh stay trodden dong,

Get up again with courage an jus farward on!”

COPYRIGHT INFORMATION & TERMS OF USE
Winning pieces from the 2011 Independence Literary Arts Competition are published here, with the chairperson’s permission, for the purpose of showcasing the talent displayed during the competition. Copyright of these pieces remain the preserve of the writers and, as is the case with all Wadadli Youth Pen Prize/Wadadli Pen, content should not be copied, distributed, transmitted, used for commercial purposes, altered, transformed, or built upon without the consent of the copyright holders. All other site content is created by me (Joanne C. Hillhouse) or, in the case of winning Wadadli Pen stories, the specific authors unless otherwise indicated. The same rules apply.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Just Forward On by Rev. Denise Smith-Lewis

  1. Pingback: SELECTIONS FROM THE A & B INDEPENDENCE LIT AWARDS 2011 | Wadadli Pen

Leave a Reply

