Time’s 100 Best Novels

You might feel like you need to catch up on your reading after flipping through Time’s list of all time 100 best novels since it began publication in the 1920s. There are only two Caribbean books on the list that I saw, Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys and A House for Mr. Biswas by V. S. Naipaul. Debatable, obviously, as most of these lists are. I’ve read both of the Caribbean titles on the list and liked one of them (hint: it’s the one that can be read as a companion piece to Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre). Other non-Caribbean favourites (by Judy Blume, James Baldwin, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Zora Neale Hurston, and Harper Lee) also made the cut. But, wow, don’t I feel like a slacker for how many of these books I haven’t yet read. Eh, not really, I’ve read a lot and I’ll catch up to these or I won’t. Besides what about my bests. What about the Lonely Londoners, Angela’s Ashes, the Colour Purple, Song of Solomon, the Farming of Bones, the Prince of Tides, the Last of Eden, Roots, Nervous Conditions, the Godfather, Lonesome Dove, Annie John, I know why the Caged Bird Sings, Interview with the Vampire, and other books I heart. What about you?  What do you think of the list?

Leave a comment

Filed under Links We Love

Leave a Reply

