OF PUBERTY, BIGAMY AND FAIRY GOD MOTHERS IN THE CITY …WHERE ANYTHING CAN HAPPEN

Judy Blume wrote of puberty in Are You There God? It’s Me Margaret, a favourite of mine going way back. Tayari Jones’ blogging here at shewrites.com and later a facebook ‘friendship’ had landed her acclaimed Silver Sparrow, a tale from the perspectives of two daughters of a bigamist, on my to-read list. I just happened to be here this week for the NY launch of my book Oh Gad! (June 23rd 4 p.m. at Antigua and Barbuda House 12 West 122nd Street, Harlem, NY), and in the midst of mixing promotion with playing tourist (hitting everywhere from Tribeca to Central Park, MOMA to the MET), I found my way to the Barnes and Noble where these two literary ladies would be dialoguing. Lucky me and the 150 or so others ‘eavesdropping’ on their enlightening engagement. A few things that stuck with me… READ MORE

Leave a comment

Filed under A & B Lit News Plus, Links We Love

Leave a Reply

