Calabash

1544322_709677415743489_1869002677_n

In 2007, I attended this superlative literary festival with a group of Antiguan and Barbudan writers.  Just Write Writers Retreat founder Brenda Lee Browne, Unburnable author Marie Elena John, S E James, author of Tragedy on Emerald Island and other books, author of two teen books including Living Life the Way I Like it Akilah Jardine, and me (author of several books none of which, at the time, included Oh Gad! which wouldn’t be released til 2012) journeyed to Jamaica for the adventure. We had an amazing time and I dream still of being part of the line-up, though I’d probably swallow my tongue if I ever got the call. I think to how long it took me to work up the nerves to do the things I did do such as read from the Boy from Willow Bend at the open mic, tell Colin Channer how much I liked Waiting in Vain and beg a picture off of him, chat with Caryl Philip about Dancing in the Dark and the origins of Bert Williams (Antiguans still say Antigua), and approach authors of books I bought for signatures. My favourite moments involved the time spent sitting in the audience soaking up the sun and the words, writing, liming and chatting with the others. We had a great time. And plan to get there and to all the literary festivals in the region, whether as a group of Antiguan and Barbudan artistes on a cultural mission or as a solo writer on a promotional tour, and I will, I will, I will, I will, I will …attracting patronage and/or raising funds for this kind of mission remains difficult; there’ve been disappointments…but if artistes and especially writers in Antigua and Barbuda know anything it’s how to lean on their own resources and reserves to make things happen. It will happen. Until then, check out these images from our trip…and mark the dates from the Calabash calendar above and plan your own trip.

Signing up for the open mic...yep, that's author extraordinaire, Marlon James, with the sign up sheet and clipboard.

Signing up for the open mic…yep, that’s author extraordinaire, Marlon James, with the sign up sheet and clipboard.

with Colin Channer...so nervous

with Colin Channer…so nervous

From left, S E James, me, Akilah, Brenda Lee, Caryl Philips, and Marie Elena John.

From left, S E James, me, Akilah, Brenda Lee, Caryl Philips, and Marie Elena John.

Leave a comment

Filed under A & B Lit News Plus, A & B WRITINGS, Caribbean Plus Lit News, Links We Love, Literary Gallery, The Business

Leave a Reply

