LAST CRY

By Letisha Carrington Faracho

Cover design by Alvin Livingstone

Cover design by Alvin Livingstone

Stomped to the ground

Arms ripped limb from limb

As tired hearts resound

I can no longer fend

And a river of blood flows at my feet

And corpse of slaughtered bodies

Lie in heaps

I close my eyes

But still I see

It plagues my dreams as I sleep

And I hear their voices cry in the night

I hear their moans, their groans

Their agony, pain and strife

And I am as a child locked in a room

Darker than the eyes can see

Trapped in my tortured body

Begging to be free

I beg, I scream, I shout for mercy

As fatal wounds pierce my skin

Fear overwhelms me

My time is running thin

So I pray, O my Sovereign King

Hear my earthly cry

That I might live and be free

Of my tempest stride

Or just let me die

Yet let me live

For all eternity.

LCF

About the author: Letisha Carrington Faracho is an honourable mention in the 18 to 35 age category of the Wadadli Youth Pen Prize 2014 Challenge. She writes, “I am a 26 year old mother of three beautiful children. I enjoy writing and have written many poems in my spare time.”

About the artist: Alvin Livingstone is a musician at heart (vocal, pan, composer); and a visual art teacher. Alvin is the winner of the 2014 Wadadli Pen Art Challenge.

Copyright of the written piece belongs to the author and copyright of the art piece belongs to the artist; so, no stealing.

2 Comments

Filed under A & B Lit News Plus, A & B WRITINGS, Wadadli Pen 2014, Wadadli Pen News

2 responses to “LAST CRY

  1. I am feeling absolutely elated to have made it this far in this competition. It is a greater feeling to see my poem reflected so impressively in Alvin Livingstone’s cover design.Congratulations to him and all the other winners!

Leave a Reply

