THE DAY I ALMOST DIED

Zoë Kyah I. Lewis

The sky was clear; stars were twinkling with the biggest moon I had ever seen.  It was the night of January, 1st, 2009 the day I almost died.  I almost died in a way nobody would understand, a way not even I could understand.

It all happened when I took the wrong path at the wrong time!

My name is Lizzy Lewis I am twelve years old and I live on the beautiful Green Island with my mom and dad.

I was walking home to meet my parents on this cold and windy Caribbean night; so windy my hat almost went with the wind.  As it blew my long brown hair I had to hold onto my hat.

I took the wrong turn and ended in an alley, five corners from the one I should’ve taken. The alley was filled with smoke and steam, from cigars and some man-holes that covered a vent.  I hugged myself, as I went deeper into the alley it got colder. I wonder what I’ll find down here, I thought as I hugged myself tighter. “Hey Lizzy!” called a voice.

I turned around to see who called me, and it was Ben.

Great what’s he doing here? I thought bitterly.

Ben was the “paper boy” for our neighbourhood; I see him when I go out for school.

“What are you doing here?” I asked.  He looked at me for a while before answering. “Oh I don’t know, why are you here?” he said smartly. I rolled my eyes and said: “Don’t answer my question with a question.”

“Whatever!” he snorted.

“Please answer the question.”

“Oookay?”

“Now.”

“Okay, okay.  Fine. I was walking around and saw you come in here and wanted to know what you’re doing”.

At the time I wanted to know the same thing! Suddenly I felt like I was in a trance and shook my head furiously.

“Are you okay?” Ben asked.

“Yeah” I said. Suddenly I heard voice.  It came in a whisper than it got louder. I looked straight ahead – that’s where the whisper came from – Ben followed me.” Where are you going?” he called. “I have to see what that was,” I said.  I went farther down, than I felt a grab on my foot.  I screamed, Ben screamed, then I heard a third scream! Looking down, I saw a hand, a very wrinkled old-looking hand.  I felt a tug, then a yank!  Then I fell into a hole, a big hole.  Where did that come from; I hit my head!  I was surprised that no damage was done.  I sat up rubbing my head, I heard Ben called my name, “Yo, Lizzy are you okay?” I responded,” yeah, come and help me”.

“How can I do that?”

“I don’t know just help me.”

He rolled his eyes and jumped down. He helped me up.  “What happened?” he asked me, I shrugged “Beats me. Something grabbed my foot and pulled me down.

“You sure you didn’t just trip over the root of one of the trees?”

Before I could answer him, a voice speaking loudly, exclaimed!

“Well, well, look what the cat dragged in,” said the voice.

We looked around but saw no one.  The sound of palm trees irritated me. “Who’s there” called Ben.

“Just me” said the voice, I rolled my eyes, “just me, who?” I said slowly.

All the time the wind was blowing through the alley making me more aware of my surroundings.  It was all very strange and exciting at the same time.

What happened next part is the part where I almost died; the “person” took out a pistol and fired straight at me!

To my surprise the pistol was a fake, but I was scared all the same!  I began to panic, what would they do next.  I jump out of the hole in one jump!  I help Ben out and we ran all the way home where my parents were waiting anxiously for me.

The End

or is it……

zoe lewis

Author’s bio: Zoë Kyah I. Lewis is twelve years old and attends the St. John’s Catholic Primary School. She is a sixth grader. Zoë loves listening to music, singing, playing on the computer and talking with friends.  Most of all she loves to read – She loves mystery adventure books and her favorite writer is R. L. Stien of the Goosebumps Series.   She is an honourable mention in the 12 and younger category of the 2014 Wadadli Youth Pen Prize Challenge.

Copyright belongs to the author; so, no stealing.

Leave a comment

Filed under A & B Lit News Plus, A & B WRITINGS, Wadadli Pen 2014, Wadadli Pen News

Leave a Reply

