THE KNOCK ON MY DOOR

By Christopher Gittens

Cover design by Emile Hill.

Cover design by Emile Hill.

It was a dark, scary night in Antigua. The wind was howling loudly, the trees were swaying wildly and there were all kinds of creepy sounds in my house. Suddenly, I heard a knock on my door.

I thought it was my mother, but I said to myself, “Mother doesn’t come home until 10:00 pm and no one else lives with me. Who could it be!?”

I decided to open the door and almost fainted when I saw a six foot, super huge mongoose -like creature standing in front of me. It had a long pointed nose, beady eyes, four hairy arms and two legs. On its back were four tentacles, but worst of all it had sharp, long, ugly claws and teeth! It roared so loudly that all of the dishes in the kitchen began to shatter.

Terrified as a chicken, I dashed to my room! However the creature followed me into my room and cornered me. I kicked it with all my strength and it fell down, so I tried to run outside, but the thing was getting up and my door was too far away. I dived under my bed and hid. The creature easily turned over the bed and found me.

“RAAAAAR!!!!!!!!!!!!”

The noise almost made me deaf.

All I could imagine was a pool of blood and guts.

“There’s no hope for me!” I said with fear.

Just when the creature was going to eat me, everything went dark. BOOM!!!  I woke up as terrified as ever, crying and hoping that my mom was home. I wanted to tell her that I had the worst nightmare ever. I ran to her room expecting her to be there to tell me everything was alright. When I got there she was still not home, so I went back to bed scared, pulled my sheets over my body and turned my face to the wall.

Suddenly, I heard the roar again, sounding as real as before. I felt slime dripping on the side of my face, and there it was, the same creature with its teeth hanging over me! I rolled off my bed and quickly ran from it. It chased me all over my house destroying everything it passed like a category five hurricane. I ran into the bathroom and locked the door. The place was silent for a while and I felt relieved, but the creature had tricked me and dug through the ground until it reached the bathtub. It lifted the bath tub from under the bathroom and was going to throw it at me. The only thing I could think of doing was to try that kick again. So I quickly kicked the creature and it got off balanced, which caused the tub to fall on it. That only made it angrier and it roared even louder. I imagined the creature swimming in the bath tub full of my blood.

“This time I’m done for!” I said.

Just when the creature hit me, I woke up again with my heart racing. But this time I heard no sound or knock, except my mom washing dishes in the kitchen with the sun shining on her lovely face.

I rejoiced saying “Thank God it was really just a dream!”

CG

 Author’s bio: Christopher tied for third place in the 12 and younger category of the Wadadli Youth Pen Prize Challenge. He says, “My name is Christopher Gittens and I am 11 years old. I enjoy, painting, drawing, reading, playing ping pong, basketball and football. My favourite food is roti and curry. I go to Saint John’s Catholic Primary School and I like Maths and Science. When I grow up, I want to be a scientist.”

About the Artist: Emile is a painter, graphic designer, photographer and art teacher. He uses every opportunity to express his passion and love for the arts through any available medium. Emile’s cover design was second placed in the Wadadli Pen 2014 Art Challenge.

Copyright of the written piece belongs to the author and copyright of the art piece belongs to the artist; so, no stealing.

Leave a comment

Filed under A & B Lit News Plus, A & B WRITINGS, Wadadli Pen 2014, Wadadli Pen News

Leave a Reply

