A Busy Month: Literary Travels Scrapbook – April 2014

I honestly don't remember what we spoke about but here I am chatting at PEN with Vanessa Manko author of The Invention of Exile.

I honestly don’t remember what we spoke about but here I am chatting at PEN with Vanessa Manko author of The Invention of Exile.

Greeting PEN World Voices festival director László Jakab Orsós.

Greeting PEN World Voices festival director László Jakab Orsós.

 

My reading during the Literary Safari at PEN World Voices Festival.

My reading during the Literary Safari at PEN World Voices Festival.

After a time, the writer doesn’t just travel on the page or through her imagination. In recent travels, it’s been a blessing to connect with the wider literary global community, to make connections, to share my writing and my culture, to grow as a writer…I am grateful.

Here I am discussing young adult literature in the Caribbean with other Burt Award finalists. http://www.codecan.org/burt-award-caribbean

Here I am discussing young adult literature in the Caribbean with other Burt Award finalists. http://www.codecan.org/burt-award-Caribbean

Reading an excerpt of my unpublished manuscript which took second place for the prize.

Reading an excerpt of my unpublished manuscript which took second place for the prize.

Bocas was kind of a big deal for me…second placed for the Burt Award for YA Caribbean Literature and a new book on the horizon…Musical Youth

MJ_Bocas Lit Fest_NALIS_20140425338

Collecting my trophy.

Collecting my trophy.

In Scotland for the Aye Write! festival - outside the Mitchell Library.

In Scotland for the Aye Write! festival – outside the Mitchell Library.

 

with co-panelist Ivory Kelly of Belize.

with co-panelist Ivory Kelly of Belize.

After our panel at Aye Write!

After our panel at Aye Write!

Just hanging - this is at Aye Write! with Scottish writer Martin McIntyre, Kei Miller of Jamaica, Sophie from the British Council, and Gemma who led my panel.

Just hanging – this is at Aye Write! with Scottish writer Martin McIntyre, Kei Miller of Jamaica, Sophie from the British Council, and Gemma who led my panel.

 

At the pub with Kei and Belizean writer and fellow panelist Ivory Kelly.

At the pub with Kei and Belizean writer and fellow panelist Ivory Kelly.

The sounds of Glasgow.

The sounds of Glasgow.

 

The sights of Glasgow.

The sights of Glasgow.

Some of these are official event photos and some from the camera of Ivory Kelly. It’s not my intent to step on anyone’s copyright , just to share some of my recent experiences. I am not using these for profit and hope that you too will lsee but don’t touch. For more on these experiences, check out my blog. – Joanne C. Hillhouse, author of The Boy from Willow Bend, Dancing Nude in the Moonlight, Fish OuttaWater, Oh Gad! and, forthcoming, Musical Youth.

Leave a comment

Filed under Literary Gallery

Leave a Reply

