Burt Award (Update and audio links)

 

Reading an excerpt of my forthcoming manuscript which took second place for the Burt Award for Young Adult Caribbean Literature at the Bocas Lit Fest in Trinidad, 2014.

Reading an excerpt of my forthcoming manuscript which took second place for the Burt Award for Young Adult Caribbean Literature at the Bocas Lit Fest in Trinidad, 2014.

A year ago around this time, I’d just made my submission to the first ever Burt Award for Young Adult Caribbean Literature. As you may know, I placed second for that award and I am now working with publisher CaribbeanReads to bring this book, Musical Youth, to market as part of the prize.

So look out for the book that has been described as

“a very exciting book…very interesting narrative with music running throughout it…” – one of the judges speaking on my forthcoming book Musical Youth during the Burt award panel referenced below. Read on.

Collecting my trophy.

Collecting my trophy.

My relationship with CODE, organizers of the Burt Award, has expanded in unexpected ways, meanwhile. I have been helping to identify groups to receive copies of the winning books locally. I am a judge for the 2015 prize. I am currently putting together a CODE sponsored workshop for Antigua and hopefully some of the surrounding islands. If you’re interested in either the workshop or the books please feel free to leave a comment below.

So there’s a lot to look out for. And, in case you want to look back, I wanted to share audio links of the Burt Award ceremony in Trinidad in April 2014 and of the Burt panel I was invited to be a part of alongside winner A-dZiko Gegele and third placed writer Colleen Smith-Dennis.

Here I am discussing young adult literature in the Caribbean with other Burt Award finalists. http://www.codecan.org/burt-award-caribbean

Here I am discussing young adult literature in the Caribbean with other Burt Award finalists. http://www.codecan.org/burt-award-caribbean

To tease your interest, here are some excerpts from me from that panel:

“the relationship between the teens is what moves the story but at the core of it is this girl discovering her talent” (re why I selected the excerpt that I did to read)

“It was driven by what is this journey that she is on” (on what motivated me to write it)

“Any person on any generation can remember the first time I guy dropped some lyrics on them” (on making the story relatable to young people)

“A lot of the times it’s a question of making the right match with the reader…it’s writing that speaks to them…whatever they’re interested in, there are books that they can read…if you give them material that appeals to them that doesn’t feel like a chore that doesn’t feel like a school assignment, they will read it” (on getting young people to read)

As with all content (words, images, other) on wadadlipen.wordpress.com, except otherwise noted, this is written by Joanne C. Hillhouse (author of The Boy from Willow Bend, Dancing Nude in the Moonlight,  Fish Outta Water, and Oh Gad!). All Rights Reserved. If you enjoyed it, check out my page on Amazon, WordPress, and/or Facebook, and help spread the word about WadadliPen and my books. You can also subscribe to and/or follow the site to keep up with future updates. Thanks. And remember while linking and sharing the links, referencing and excerpting, with credit, are okay, lifting whole content (articles,  images, other) from the site without asking is not cool. Respect copyright.

2 Comments

Filed under A & B Lit News Plus, A & B WRITINGS, Caribbean Plus Lit News, Links We Love, Literary Gallery, The Business, Wadadli Pen News

2 responses to “Burt Award (Update and audio links)

  1. Barbara Arrindell

    Glens young people would be interested in the book .. They are now a staple at open mic and other activities. Other regular WP open mic participants may also be interested.

Leave a Reply

