Musical Youth launched…and some other stuff happened :-)

turnout

I launched my latest book Musical Youth with a reading, November 21st, at the Best of Books.

It was a treat for me to be able to include some of the 2014 Wadadli Pen Challenge finalists in that event, merging my literary activities with my literary advocacy. I enjoyed hearing them read. Here are some highlights:

Asha Graham, who took the main prize in both 2013 and 2014, read from her most recent winning piece LaJabless (use the search feature to the right to read it if you haven't yet and would like to).

Asha Graham, who took the main prize in both 2013 and 2014, read from her most recent winning piece LaJabless (use the search feature to the right to read it if you haven’t yet and would like to).

Alexandra Spence was an honourable mention in the 18 to 35 category of the 2014 Wadadli Pen Challenge. She read her story Why did I get Punished? At the launch, and received a copy of my book Musical Youth as a token of my thanks. (Read her story by using the search feature to the right).

Alexandra Spence was an honourable mention in the 18 to 35 category of the 2014 Wadadli Pen Challenge. She read her story Why did I get Punished? At the launch, and received a copy of my book Musical Youth as a token of my thanks. (Read her story by using the search feature to the right).

CODE, publisher Caribbean Reads, and me contributed copies of Musical Youth to the Public Library; here I am presenting those copies to the library representative.

CODE, publisher Caribbean Reads, and me contributed copies of Musical Youth to the Public Library; here I am presenting those copies to the library representative.

Here I am reading…so cool to have this image of me reading from my latest book Musical Youth while standing under a banner of one of my other books Oh Gad!

Here I am reading…so cool to have this image of me reading from my latest book Musical Youth while standing under a banner of one of my other books Oh Gad!

And here I am signing copies for readers like local attorney E. Ann Henry.

And here I am signing copies for readers like local attorney E. Ann Henry.

All in all, it was a wet but good night…big thanks to all who came out.

All in all, it was a wet but good night…big thanks to all who came out.

I want to say thanks to the Best of Books, the Public Library, and audience members like Kimolisa Mings for the pictures; thanks to Best of Books for hosting, Glen Toussaint for MC-ing and Wadadli Pen alums Margaret Irish, Asha Graham, and Alexandra Spence for participating. I want to say thanks to everyone who came out…was especially happy to see my Cushion Club folks and to give them and the library copies of the book…and floored by a personal written thank you from one of my former Cushion Club kids, not a kid anymore, now a young lady striding toward her dreams and giving me way too much credit for any part in that (though I am happy if I’ve had any sort of positive influence on her journey).

With my Cushion Club folks. The Cushion Club reading club for kids meets Saturdays at the University Centre between 10:30 a.m. and 12 noon.

With my Cushion Club folks. The Cushion Club reading club for kids meets Saturdays at the University Centre between 10:30 a.m. and 12 noon.

I just want to add that the night before the launch I was awarded the 2014 Leonard Tim Hector Memorial Award. And the day after the launch I had the opportunity to lead two days of CODE sponsored workshop; perfect bookends to a literary highlight. I didn’t see the award coming and the workshop went better than I’d dared hope. I am thankful for both. And I am so thrilled at the release of this book which placed second earlier this year for the inaugural BURT award for Young Adult Caribbean Literature, a prize sponsored by CODE which is a Canadian non-profit. Musical Youth – which begs the question “Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime?” – is published by CaribbeanReads Publishing. CaribbeanReads has also just released Round My Christmas Tree, a seasonal anthology, featuring writers from around the region including, from Antigua, me and Carel Hodge. Give T’anks.

As with all content (words, images, other) on wadadlipen.wordpress.com, except otherwise noted, this is written by Joanne C. Hillhouse (author of The Boy from Willow Bend, Dancing Nude in the Moonlight, Fish Outta Water, Musical Youth, and Oh Gad!).  All Rights Reserved. If you enjoyed it, check out my page on Amazon, WordPress, and/or Facebook, and help spread the word about WadadliPen and my books. You can also subscribe to the site to keep up with future updates. Thanks. And remember while linking and sharing the links, referencing and excerpting, are okay, lifting content (words, images, other) from the site without asking is not cool. Respect copyright.

2 Comments

Filed under A & B Lit News Plus, A & B WRITINGS, Caribbean Plus Lit News, Links We Love, Literary Gallery, The Business, Wadadli Pen News, Workshop

2 responses to “Musical Youth launched…and some other stuff happened :-)

  1. Congrats on placing second in the Burt Award and having a successful launch. I’m looking forward to reading your book!

Leave a Reply

