Teenagers

By Avriel Walters

You know what I can`t stand about teenagers? They always feel they`re the boss of every sibling.

One day my cousin got invited to a send- away party and I begged her to go but she said,

“NO, you too likkle.”

That very night, I found out that the girl had invited me. I was so vexed.

The next day my parents were going to St. Lucia, before they left, I had asked them for permission to go to the movies with my friends and they agreed.

An hour later, the very same cousin came into the house; I had expected her because my parents always ask her to babysit me- something I’m never happy about.

I left her to go and get ready. When I was about to head out the door she stopped me saying, “Where are you going?”

I replied saying “to the movies.”

“Who are you going with?”

“With my friends.”

“Well likkle gyal once your parents not here, you not going nowhere by yourself, so forget about it.”

I cried, went in my room and closed my door with a force.

You see why I don’t like teenagers?

Avriel Walters collects her prizes from poet (whose latest CD is I am Speaking) Dotsie Isaac Gellizeau. Photo courtesy The Best of Books.

Avriel Walters collects her prizes from poet (whose latest CD is I am Speaking) Dotsie Isaac Gellizeau. Photo courtesy The Best of Books.

 

Avriel Walters, 10, attends the Mary E. Piggot primary school (grade 5). “I had entered last year and wanted to enter again this year.” Second time’s the charm; she is a Best of Books Promising Writer pick in the 2015 Wadadli Pen Challenge.

All Rights Reserved. While linking and sharing the links, referencing and excerpting, are okay, lifting content (words, images, other) from the site without asking is not cool. Respect copyright.

Leave a comment

Filed under A & B Lit News Plus, A & B WRITINGS, Wadadli PEN 2015, Wadadli Pen News

Leave a Reply

