The First time I went to St John’s

By Melicia McCalmon

I was only six when my mother sent a plane ticket for me to leave Guyana and come to Antigua.

The day after I came, she took me to the West Bus Station. She warned “Melly if you get lost, come right back here. Don’t talk to any strangers.

While she was speaking with a friend, I saw an ice cream shop.

Suddenly I wasn’t holding my mother’s hand anymore.

I started walking back to the bus station. On my way I saw a man with a butcher’s knife cutting meat. He looked at me and said “come yah”. I didn’t understand Antiguan dialect then. I shook my head repeatedly while watching him chopping up the meat and gesturing to me with his knife.

I started crying and continued walking fast not taking my eyes off him. I approached a bench and sat there waiting for my mother to come back for me. As I wiped the tears from my eyes I realized my mother was standing in front of me.

I jumped off the bench, hugging her tightly, not letting go no matter what.

Melicia, 17, is a second time entrant in the Wadadli Pen Challenge and at her second go is a Best of Books Promising Writer Pick.

 

Melicia collects from poet Dotsie Isaac Gellizeau.

Melicia collects from poet Dotsie Isaac Gellizeau.

All Rights Reserved. While linking and sharing the links, referencing and excerpting, are okay, lifting content (words, images, other) from the site without asking is not cool. Respect copyright.

Leave a comment

Filed under A & B Lit News Plus, A & B WRITINGS, Wadadli PEN 2015, Wadadli Pen News

Leave a Reply

