Commonwealth Writers

The regional winners of the 2015 Commonwealth Short Story Prize include, for the Caribbean region, Trinidad and Tobago’s K. Jared Hosein.

You can also read his story online here. And trust me, it’s worth the read.

Excerpt:

He scrape his rubber slippers against some loose gravel. He reminded me of a little boy all of a sudden, sulkin over a schoolyard brawl. He then say, “Don’t get me wrong, eh, Bug. The dog is the dog, and Bailey is Bailey. I don’t keep the dog around to remember the man or anything. I just like the dog.”

I actually read an earlier draft of this story and was struck by the subtle but effective changes to the final; and with the author’s permission, I have the before-and-after for my next workshop (well, my last adult writers workshop, sort of a show and tell re the editing process…but that workshop had to be postponed…so the next time, maybe…a shame, as I really do think participants would have found it quite instructive).

Anyway, big up, Kevin! And, you, reader, go read the story.

I have only read one of the other stories, to date (time constraints), but what a story. So, I recommend as well Africa region winner, Nigerian Lesley Nneka Arima’s Light.

Excerpt:

She’s been trying to get her hands on the girl for years. In a fit of spite and panic, Enebeli buys a box and does the girl’s hair himself, massaging the cream into her scalp like lotion, and the smell of it makes both their eyes water. When they wash it out, half the girl’s hair comes out with it, feathery clumps that swirl into the drain like fuzzy fish.

If you read these or the others before I get around to them; share your thoughts.

As with all content (words, images, other) on wadadlipen.wordpress.com, except otherwise noted, this is written by Joanne C. Hillhouse (author of The Boy from Willow Bend, Dancing Nude in the Moonlight,  Fish Outta Water, Oh Gad! and Burt Award finalist Musical Youth). All Rights Reserved. If you enjoyed it, check out my page on Amazon, WordPress, and/or Facebook, and help spread the word about WadadliPen and my books. You can also subscribe to and/or follow the site to keep up with future updates. Thanks. And remember while linking and sharing the links, referencing and excerpting, with credit, are okay, lifting whole content (articles,  images, other) from the site without asking is not cool. Respect copyright.

Leave a comment

Filed under Caribbean Plus Lit News

Leave a Reply

