CARIFESTA…

“After spending months in preparation, scores of the nation’s most talented youngsters are now set to miss out on the region’s biggest cultural competition and festival. Culture Director Vaughn Walter confirmed about 70 people, including the National Youth Choir, National Youth Steel Orchestra and the nation’s culinary team have been cut from the delegation slated to attend Carifesta XII in Haiti from August 21 to 30.” This is from the Daily Observer (you can read the full article here)

I actually came across this article shortly after reading of this year’s CARIFESTA announcement and wondering the same thing I’ve wondered since I became a published author (more than 10 years ago) and started thinking representing my country and the literary arts at CARIFESTA might be something I’d like to do. Clearly, it wasn’t meant to be (and I’m fortunate to have had, through my own initiative and invitations from abroad, other opportunities to represent Antigua and Barbuda and the literary arts) but that thing I still wonder as relates to CARIFESTA is what’s the selection process (how do artistes get tapped for the delegation)? It’s such a wonderful opportunity to showcase the breadth of our creative arts, I like to hope that all Antiguan and Barbudan artists have a fair shot of getting on the CARIFESTA train. Obviously my priority is always the literary arts but in general, it’s something I still wonder. Inquiring minds. If I find out, I’ll let you know…after all, part of what I try to pass on here is Opportunities, and the budget constraints may make my questioning moot this time around, but not irrelevant in my view, as for artistes who’d like a shot at making the cut, there’s always next CARIFESTA.

Which bring me to the crux of the article (which I decided to share here primarily because it involved the arts, Antigua and Barbuda, and especially young people in Antigua and Barbuda involved in the arts which is what we’re about encouraging here at Wadadli Pen), the disappointment you can read, behind the numbers, of all those originally selected on hearing that after all the time they’ve put in in rehearsals etc, that they’ve been unceremoniously cut. Feels like the arts getting the shaft again.

As with all content on wadadlipen.wordpress.com, except otherwise noted, this is written by Joanne C. Hillhouse (author of The Boy from Willow Bend, Dancing Nude in the Moonlight,  Fish Outta Water, Musical Youth, and Oh Gad!). All Rights Reserved. If you enjoyed it, check out my page on Amazon, WordPress, and/or Facebook, and help spread the word about Wadadli Pen and my books. You can also subscribe to the site to keep up with future updates. Thanks.

Leave a comment

Filed under A & B Lit News Plus, A & B WRITINGS, Caribbean Plus Lit News, Links We Love

Leave a Reply

