Editing Notes

“One way or another, you need to have your manuscript edited before you send it to an agent. That edit may come from your writing group (free) or from a talented writing friend who owes you a big fat favor (free), or it may come from an experienced editor, ideally one who’s worked as a professional book editor for a long time (not free)…a paid editor will think about grammar, syntax, main and secondary characters, theme, plot, character length, order of events, etcetera, and will hopefully point out some of your unfortunate tics….There’s no shame in hiring an editor either. The best of the best pay editors to improve their work….It doesn’t make a person less of an author; it doesn’t reduce your ownership of the text.” – Agent Advice column by Danielle Svetcov of Levine Greenberg Rostan in Poets & Writers May/June 2015

That said let me share some links of possible interest:

This link has some self-editing tips for those who can’t afford to hire an editor

Also for the self-editor but delving a bit deeper into story and structural points

Deeper still

…and some tutorials that should be useful when proofing

On this site, on the Opportunities Page, you’ll find links to a variety of opportunities including editing services mine and others, workshops, and more.

Anecdote: I like this client’s spirit. Everyone in her circle had told her the story was great but she still felt something wasn’t right. She’d participated in a couple of my workshops and, at the last minute, hit me up for an assignment that turned out to be part editing, part coaching, part critiquing…with the clock ticking down to her deadline. Editors can be buzzkills and I was; but it was what she’d signed up for when she approached me and honest guidance was what I owed her. The story did need work and figuring out what it would take to make it work was part of my challenge as editor. She took the feedback like a soldier and burned the midnight oil putting in the work. Whatever happens, it was a reminder to me about what I like about working with writers who want to make the work better and a reminder to both of us of the effort it takes beyond the burst of inspiration that births the story. It was at once challenging and exhilarating to move the story along. I felt it as the editor…and she felt it as the writer, too, I think (at least I’ve decided to take her tip – my first ever tip from a client – as evidence of that; and this after I gave her my writers’ discount).

As with all content on wadadlipen.wordpress.com, except otherwise noted, this is written by Joanne C. Hillhouse (author of The Boy from Willow Bend, DancingNude in the Moonlight, Musical Youth, and Oh Gad!). All Rights Reserved. If you share this list, give credit; if you appreciate the service, check out my page on Amazon, WordPress, and/or Facebook, and help spread the word about Wadadli Pen and my books. You can also subscribe to the site to keep up with future updates. Thanks.

2 Comments

Filed under Links We Love, Workshop

2 responses to “Editing Notes

  1. … like this article : useful …

Leave a Reply

