The Boy inspires Art…and Conversation

jhohadli

The coolest thing happened this week. A teacher sent me some pictures  made by students in her class; the pictures, their interpretation of scenes from my first book The Boy from Willow Bend.
The Boy from Willow Bend1
I’ve received a few Willow Bend related emails over the years. The first one that stands out is from a university student in Italy. It blew my mind then that Vere had travelled as far as Italy and that she had selected him for her class project in her course on post colonial literature. “I really liked because of the kindness of the protagonist and the idea of Caribbean life and atmosphere it gave to me,” she wrote, adding. “I chose your book from the many my teacher proposed to me.”

Mind blown.

To more established writers, maybe a small thing – I don’t know; but for a newly minted writer from a small place a world away, that…

View original post 631 more words

Leave a comment

February 13, 2016 · 6:48 am

Leave a Reply

