Jamaican Writer Erna Brodber Among Recipients of the 2017 Windham-Campbell Prize

‘The 2017 recipients of the Windham-Campbell Prizes are: in fiction, André Alexis (Canada/Trinidad and Tobago) and Erna Brodber (Jamaica); in nonfiction, Maya Jasanoff (United States) and Ashleigh Young (New Zealand); in poetry, Ali Cobby Eckermann (Yankunytjatjara Aboriginal/Australia) and Carolyn Forché (United States); and in drama, Marina Carr (Ireland) and Ike Holter (United States). This is the first year that prizes have been awarded in poetry.

“The telephone call and later the representation on paper of a miracle was so frighteningly surreal, I am still wondering if I have been trapped in a composition of mine,” said Brodber.

This is the fifth class of prize recipients. Since the prize’s inception, 43 writers representing 12 countries in Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North America have received the prize. Past recipients include Oscar-winning playwright Tarell Alvin McCraney, essayist and novelist Teju Cole, novelist C. E. Morgan, and nonfiction writer Geoff Dyer.

The Windham-Campbell Festival will take place at Yale on Sept. 13-15.’


Leave a comment

Filed under Caribbean Plus Lit News, Links We Love

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.