#SituationRightNow

Sometimes, on my facebook, I post #situationrightnow as a way of updating the page’s followers on what’s going on. Sometimes, it’s a way to take a breather from what I’m doing. This is a bit of both.

Right now, I’m trying to finalize the prize breakdown (making sure it all balances out etc.) for the Wadadli Pen Challenge 2017, so that we can follow up with confirmed patrons (and lock down the unconfirmed ones) to collect and do our best to have everything in place for the May 13th 2017 awards, set for 5:30 p.m. during the Wadadli Stories book fairWadadli Stories flyer. It may seem like a wide window but when you factor in that this is not our all-day everyday job and that we have to leave room to collect (and the ways Murphy can mess with that), we might actually not have enough time. As I write this, I still have a to-do folder with 41 small and bigger tasks, and that’s just me and just for Wadadli Pen. So, yeah, we’ve got to make good use of the time we have left.

That said, it’s been a long and busy day, and my eyes are dipping, so hang with me while I wrap this up.

10:40 p.m. – School with the Most Submissions – I remember we first offered this prize in 2005 and the recipient was Buckley’s Primary. This year it’s Island Academy with more than 20 submissions from a total of 93. They’ll be receiving prizes contributed by ECAB, Harper Collins, and an anonymous donor. Decision made.

10:45 p.m. – We have four prize recipients in the 12 and Younger category; one more than anticipated or budgeted for – but we’ll make it work. Prizes in this category will be courtesy Art. Culture. Antigua, Harper Collins, Juneth Webson, and Little Bell Caribbean (copies of my book With Gracewith-grace). There is one other, unconfirmed, and then there is the Cushion Club which has given every year since the early days of Wadadli Pen, despite itself being a non-profit youth-centric activity.

11:30 p.m. – We, also, have four prize recipients in the 13 to 17 category; it’s that kind of year. Prizes in this category will come from another long time patron, the International Women’s Club of Antigua and Barbuda, and the Barbuda Express, ferry service – that’s right one of our winners is getting a trip for two to the sister island where the beaches are miles long, the lagoon is a richly biodiverse experience with frigate birds aplenty, where there are caves, and seafood cyaarn done.

11:55 p.m. – Up to the 18 to 35s which have your standard three, and prize commitments from Brenda Lee Browne, Caribbean Reads Publishing, Harper Collins, and Raw Island Products.

12:10 a.m. – the overalls.  There are prizes in this category from Sweet Dreams (boss cake designer), Jane Seagull, Paperclips, the Best of Books, and reliable patrons, anonymous and Frank B. Armstrong. I’m also offering a coaching session, something I’ve never done before. I mean, I’ve done coaching before (it’s part of my suite of freelance services) but I’ve never inserted my services in to Wadadli Pen before. Typically, I try to get another writer on board to do this. But part of the reason I’m doing this is to aid in the development of youth and the literary arts; this is something I can do, so why not do it.

1:01 a.m. – Done. Email sent. The rest of the To Do List is gonna have to wait for another day. Done.

Oh, p.s. there’s still time to give.

As with all content on wadadlipen.wordpress.com, except otherwise noted, this is written by Joanne C. Hillhouse (author of The Boy from Willow Bend, Dancing Nude in the Moonlight, Oh Gad!, Fish Outta Water, Musical Youth and With Grace). All Rights Reserved. If you enjoyed it, check out my page on Amazon, WordPress, and/or Facebook, and help spread the word about Wadadli Pen and my books. You can also subscribe to the site to keep up with future updates. Thanks.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under A & B Lit News Plus, A & B WRITINGS, Links We Love, Literary Gallery, Wadadli Pen 2017, Wadadli Pen News

Leave a Reply

