The winner has since been announced and they are not from the Caribbean. We celebrate them still! Ntsika Kota is the first writer from Eswatini to win the prize for the story ‘and the earth drank deep’. Quick wiki search – Eswatini (Swaziland up to 2018) is a landlocked country, bordered by South Africa and Mozambique. Congrats, Ntsika. Read all about his win here.

Shout out as well to Diana McCaulay who was the regional winner.

Wadadli Pen

This has already been mentioned in the latest CARIB Lit Plus but here also is the press release which came to my inbox.

• Caribbean shortlist features two previous winners, Diana McCaulay (2012), Alexia Tolas (2019)
• Sharma Taylor shortlisted for the fourth time
• Chair of the Judges, Guyanese writer Fred D’Aguiar hails ‘memorable and urgent stories that captured the concerns of their respective communities…. Reflecting a complex and afflicted planet’
• Ambitious and wide-ranging variety of styles, storytelling traditions and themes – from family dramas, to explorations of love and loss, exploitation, betrayal and scandal, and the ‘hurts of history’
• UK-based authors from Trinidad and Tobago and St Vincent and the Grenadines, JS Gomes and Cecil Browne, also feature on the shortlist

Twenty-six outstanding stories have been shortlisted by an international judging panel for the world’s most global literature prize. The…

View original post 1,275 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.