Wadadli Pen Patronage

Wadadli Pen – a registered non-profit committed to nurturing and showcasing the literary arts in Antigua and Barbuda – would not be what it is nor accomplished what it has to date without our patrons/donors. If you would like to contribute, contact us at wadadlipen@gmail.com.

This page lists patrons/donors through the years, beginning in 2004 when we launched (to 2022, at this writing). It includes those who’ve contributed prizes, subsidized advertising and other productions, or made other cash or in-kind contribution. Thanks to any business or individual (some regrettably no longer with us) that has ever contributed to this project . Please forgive and correct any errors. Search ‘who won’ for prize breakdowns by year.

Gazelle Goodwin’s was the first name added to the Zuri Holder Memorial Plaque for our younger writers in 2021.

Top Tier
(for patrons/donors who’ve contributed at least half of the years the Wadadli Pen prize has been in operation)

Antiguanice.com Barbara Arrindell/Barbara Arrindell & Associates/The Best of Books Bookstore Brenda Lee Browne/Just Write Cedric Holder and the Cushion Club Frank B. Armstrong Joanne C. Hillhouse D. Gisele Isaac Conrad Luke Jane Seagull Floree Williams Whyte/Moondancer Books

In 2011, Orique Gordon won the 12 and younger prize. This was the first year that Best of Books hosted our awards; store owner EM Grimes-Graeme presents him with his prizes.

Eef Armstrong (Raw Island Products) Art at the Ridge Pam Arthurton/Carib World Travel/Antigua and Barbuda Literary Festival Barbuda Express (& Nedd Tours) Caribbean Reads Publishing/Carol Mitchell International Women’s Club/American Women’s Club Stephen B. Shoul Juneth Webson

Mid Tier
(for patrons/donors who have contributed at least a third of the years the Wadadli Pen prize has been in operation)

2018 honourable mention Andrecia Lewis collects her prizes from patron and former judge Brenda Lee Browne.

Tier One
(for patrons/donors who have contributed to Wadadli Pen one or more times over the years)

365antigua.com ABI Insurance ABS Radio & TV ACT Rilys Adams Adventure Antigua Anicol Anjo Wholesale Antigua Jewellers Antigua Rainforest Canopy Tour The Art Loft Art. Culture. Antigua Australian Homemade Ice-Cream Bailey’s Jewellery Bayhouse Restaurant @ Tradewinds Hotel Benetton Big Banana Blue Waters Bocas Danielle Boodoo Fortune/Wildflower Studios Diane Browne BWIA C + C Winehouse Cable & Wireless Caribbean Alliance Caribbean Helicopters Caribbean Star Caribbean Union Bank Cindy’s Bookstore CODE Colombian Emeralds Comnett Community First Cooperative Credit Union Computer Reset Courts Cultural Development Division – Antigua and Barbuda Daily Observer Danz’s Sweet Dreams Deluxe ECAB Debbie Eckert Edison Arts Electronic World Exotic Antigua Flo’s Perfume + Claudia Elizabeth Ruth Francis Friends of Antigua Public Library (NY) Daryl George Dawn Gibson Guidance and Learning Centre HAMA Nana Ekua Brew Hammond Hands Across the Sea Happy Kids Antigua Harper’s Office Depot Harper Collins Maggie Harris Heavenly Java 2 Go Heritage Hotel Hermitage Bay Antigua HERO Hitachi Centre Howell Jewellers Illuminat Images.cam Dotsie Isaac Jabberwocky Yacht Charters S E James Lawrence Jardine Jeweler’s Warehouse Marie Elena John Ruel Johnson Jolly Beach K & E Party Time Imran Khan Karib Cable/FLOW Keyonna Beach King Progress Kool Net Joy Lawrence LIAT Garfield Linton Little Antigua Island Tour Little Bell Caribbean Sekou Luke Sean Lyons Macmillan Caribbean The Map Shop Marcel Marshall Diana McCaulay Hazra Medica Jennifer Meranto Motion Museum of Antigua and Barbuda NIA Comms Claytine Nisbett Koren and Karen Norton OK Johnny Ondeck Optimist Club (Youth Drama Group) Dorbren O’Marde Paperclips Antigua Papillote Press Paradise Vision Center Jewell Parker Rhodes Pearson Peepal Tree Press Zane Peters Photogenesis Althea Prince/Insomniac Press/Canadian Scholars Press Raeburn Generator Services Kris Rampersad Rotary Club of Antigua Olive Senior Sharon Embroidery Silver Lining Monique S. Simon & The Caribbean Folklore Project The Source Elaine Spires Spirit of Nature Subway Leon Chaku Symister Devra Thomas Patricia Tully West Indies Cricket Board Women’s Press Woods Pharmacy Young Explorer

Kevin Liddie’s name was added to the Alstyne Allen Memorial Challenge Plaque which holds the name of every winner since 2004. The prize in 2021 was open to writers of all ages. Liddie and his daughter Aunjelique both placed in the top 3. The plaque is sponsored by the Best of Books bookstore.

Wadadli Pen has been active in Antigua and Barbuda since 2004. We became legally registered as a non-profit in 2021. We are hoping to build our fundraising, including patronage. If you’re reading this, we hope we can count on your support going forward.

Contact us at wadadlipen at gmail dot com